Miss Manipur 2017 Winner Is Thounaojam Strela

Posted by Gyane Haobijam
December 18, 2017

NOTE: This post has been self-published by the author. Anyone can write on Youth Ki Awaaz.

Miss Manipur 2017 winner is Thounaojam Strela presented by Halley Laithangbam and Sonya Phairembam held at Bheigyachandra Open Air Theatre, Palace Compound amidst much pomp and grandeur in which about 17 contestants from different walks of life competed for the coveted title.

Miss Manipur 2017 Winner Is Thounaojam Strela

The top 10 contestants were screened and they were later shortlisted for the top five after a question and answer round.

Thounaojam Strela – Miss Manipur 2017 Winner 

A brief written examination decided the top three winners with Thounaojam Strela as Miss Manipur, she bagged the title defeating 16 other contestants who competed for the coveted title in three rounds namely traditional, casual and evening. Priyanka Gotimayum and Konthoujam Mangal Chanu bagged the first and second runner-up titles of the beauty contest.

All the three top beauties went home richer with a cash prize of Rs 80,000, Rs 60,000 and Rs 40,000 respectively with a number of gift hampers from various sponsors and one night stay at Classic Resort at Sendra. Seven sub-titles awards also given to M Saprina (Beautiful hair), Ng Bidyabati (Congeniality), Kabita Saikhom (Popularity), Serena Ahongsangbam(Beautiful skin), Priyanka Gotimayum (Talented), Aluliu Daimei (Catwalk) and Teresa Paonam (Best designer).

The contestants of Miss Manipur beauty pageant 2017 were scrutinised by a panel of five judges including Manipur Fire Service Director RK Meme, Medico fashionista and founder of a clothing line Sakura Dr Thiyam Sonia; design consultant Memyo Ningombi from the Ministry of Textiles, government of India; well-known designer Rina Ahanthem; and chairperson Dr K Sobita of the Manipur State Commission for Women.

Youth Ki Awaaz is an open platform where anybody can publish. This post does not necessarily represent the platform's views and opinions.