Youth Ki Awaaz is undergoing scheduled maintenance. Some features may not work as desired.

Is The Disqualification Of 20 AAP MLAs Revenge By PM Modi?

Posted by Mehul Choradiya in Politics
January 20, 2018

The big news coming from Delhi is that the Election Commission of India has submitted a report to the President of India recommending the disqualification of 20 Member of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) of the Aam Aadmi Party in the case of ‘office of profit’.

The Arvind Kejriwal government appointed 21 MLAs to the post of ‘parliamentary secretary’ without any perks. They were not paid even a single penny against their job as it was more like social work.

The 20 MLAs are: Adarsh Shastri, Alka Lamba, Sanjeev Jha, Kailash Gahlot, Vijendra Garg, Praveen Deshmukh, Sharad Chouhan, Madan Lal, Shiv Charan Goyal, Sarita Singh, Naresh Yadav, Rajesh Gupta, Rajesh Rishi, Anil Kumar Bajpai, Som Dutt, Avtar Singh, Sukhbir Singh Dala, Manoj Kumar, Nitin Tyagi and Jarnail Singh.

Major points to take into in consideration:

1. It is ruled that if anyone is accused, they must be given proper time and chance to defend himself. But, the 20 MLAs were not given any opportunity to defend themselves.

2. Three people heard this matter and out of them, two kept them aside. Honorable Achal Kumar Jyoti will be completing 65 years of age on January 23, and he will not be a CEC after that.

3. The hearing was going on whether the 21 AAP MLAs were holding ‘Office of Profit’ or not. Then how can the EC Disqualifies the 20 AAP MLAs without giving any chance to defend themselves?

4. Supreme Court gave a decree that these 21 MLAs are not even Parliamentary Secretaries, then how can the EC act against them?

There is a massive outrage on social media platforms against EC’s decision and most of them blaming that the decision was taken in a hurry by Achal Kumar Jyoti. The rumour mill states that as after January 23, he will not be a CEC, so he is concreting on strengthening his relations with the current government before he leaves.

People are saying in one voice that Modi ji is taking revenge from the common man of Delhi, as they voted Arvind Kejriwal and completely neglected Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP).

There seems to be a method to this madness.

More than 15 MLAs were charged in fake cases. For the first time in history, the CM’s office was raided, and now 20 MLAs were not even paid a single penny for their work are disqualified by EC. Food for thought anyone?