4 Things You Should Know About Jammu

By Krish

Nov 14, 2022

Currently Jammu consists of 10 Districts, Jammu, Samba, Kathua, Doda, Kishtwar, Poonch, Rajouri, Ramban, Reasi and Udhampur.


When people think of J&K their Mind goes to Kashmir but in Jammu a whole other gem exists one which should have light shown on it.

Hills, snow among other things made Jammu division desirable and the winter capital Jammu city is full of history having a thousand year old history.


Ethnic Groups

There's a multitude of cultures and ethnic groups in Jammu the main being the Dogras who make up 44% of Jammu division. 

There are a lot of places to visit in Jammu from the Beautiful temples in the region to the masjids and such, temples like Vaishno Devi and Raghunath Temple are well known.

Cultural Attractions

Local Interactions

Villagers are very friendly and don't have issue with tourists, their warmth can be easing and the deeper you go into Jammu the more it can be experienced.

So if you ever plan to visit J&K you should think of Jammu too, it is as much as the gem as Kashmir is and shouldn't be forgotten.